Skip to content

Academy Award Winning Gowns

February 28, 2011

I don’t know about you, but I had an absolutely delightful time watching the Oscar’s last night. The hosts may not have been on their “A” game, and the Social Network didn’t win Best Picture, but I enjoyed my time with friends discussing everything from red carpet dresses to my love for Jesse Eisenberg (a little weird, I know) to “What the heck is 127 Hours?” Handfuls of M&M’s, homemade popcorn, and a personal favorite, chips and salsa, were all involved. I also still need to see Black Swan… But anyway, here are my picks for best dressed of the night.

Mila Kunis in Elie Saab couture with beautiful detailing and intricate draping positively wins Best Dressed in my book.

 

What can I say? I’m a sucker for sparkle, and this picture does Mandy Moore’s Monique Lhuillier gown no justice. Simple and shimmering, with a pop of coral on the lips. Winner.

 

I was all for sweet little Hailee Steinfeld winning Best Supporting Actress, and while she unfortunately didn’t get it, she sure did wow us in this darling blush Marchesa dress. I’m expecting big things from this doll in the future! Definitely not her last Oscar appearance.

 

The combination and transition of textures and colors in this Gucci piece is really something worth noting. Loved seeing a Spring trend (feathers!) on the red carpet. You rocked it beautifully Hilary.

 

Given a chance to wear a floor length gown, nine times out of ten, I’d probably choose a full skirt like the one on Camilla Alves’ Kaufman Franco gown.

 

I just love Gwyneth Paltrow. Loved her on Glee. Country Strong. At the Grammy’s with Cee-Lo. So of course I picked her song winning (didn’t happen). Not many women could pull off this cascading Calvin Klein Collection metallic gown, but it seemed to be made for her.

 

And finally we have Cate Blanchett. I have to admit, my first impression of this dress was not a good one. It was just weird. But as I looked closer, it began to grow on me. It’s more of a piece of art work than a red carpet gown, and for that reason I’ve grown to love it. The complex detailing of crystals and pearls on this Givenchy Haute Couture dress absolutely won me over.

 

What do you think? I’d love to know your favorites! Oh, and if you haven’t seen The Social Network- Rent it. Buy it. Borrow it – today. Just do what you have to do.

photo credit: elle.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 7:21 am

    Mandy Moore and Mila Kunis are, hands down, the winners for me! So stunning!!!

    xoxo
    Cathy, your Poor Little It Girl

    http://poorlittleitgirl.com

  2. February 28, 2011 3:27 pm

    Hilary Swank and Hailee Steinfeld also made my best dressed list! Camilla Alves also was gorgeous, love that ball gown style! xoxo Marissa

  3. February 28, 2011 3:55 pm

    Miss Kathryn, the post that I have set for Wednesday is suspiciously similar to this one. Mila Kunis looked absolutely STUNNING!
    xo Josie
    http://winksmilestyle.blogspot.com

Leave a comment