Skip to content

The New Super Cropped Top

February 17, 2011

This is one of those trends, that I’m just not sure if I’m comfortable with- quite yet. It makes you second guess yourself. Like would people think- “Oh my word. Did that girl just forget to put on a shirt and then proceed to go out in public?!” Well the answer here, my dears, is no. The “bra top” trend has been jumping out at me left and right, from my favorite magazines and stores, to designers like Emersonmade (shown above) and Topshop (shown below).

These “tops” (if you even want to really call them that) come in all shapes and sizes. I personally think the Emersonmade one is absolutely darling, and the pairing of the cardigan and high-waisted skirt is utter perfection- the scalloped edges are just too cute too! But if you want to go simple- stick to a solid colored, seamless sports bra-like top- like the one from Urban shown below. Simple enough, right?

I think the key here when pulling off a trend like this is just making sure that modesty is the best policy. As in- throw on a cardigan or blazer over your tiny top and leave your extra low-waisted shorts and skirts at home. Even layering one under sheer tops can be a great way to break into the trend.

So tell me- What do you think? Do you see yourself sporting this trend this summer? I think I’m diggin’ it.

photo credit: Emersonmade, Topshop, Urban Outfitters, Singer22

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 2:46 am

    Can’t do it. I don’t hate the look but I could NEVER pull it off. I do like it layered under a pretty, floaty sheer blouse though — the last photo is absolutely darling!
    xo Josie
    http://winksmilestyle.blogspot.com

  2. February 17, 2011 7:00 am

    If I can look like the girl in the 1st picture than I will totally rock this trend! I love the cropped top with the skirt!

  3. Cathy anderons permalink
    February 17, 2011 12:03 pm

    I. Am. Obsessed!!!!! I’m all over this trend for spring and summer! It’s so fun and fresh and totally unexpected! And it gives us all motivation to get our body bikini ready :o)

    Xoxo
    Cathy, your Poor Little It Girl

    http://poorlittleitgirl.com

  4. Paige Berry permalink
    February 17, 2011 12:47 pm

    Kathryn! I am so glad you blogged about this. I am totally into this look and also agree that the first photo is absolutely darling. I actually came across it when I checked out Emersonmade’s site after you blogged about their flower pins(which are also precious). I think the crop tops look so cute with a high waisted anything; that way you look super stylish and summery without looking like a super skank. It’s also a good way to avoid tummy insecurities and still rock the look. Anyway, I love your blog girl :]

    • February 17, 2011 1:29 pm

      Ah, thank you Paige!! And yes, I definitely think I’m loving this look after some consideration. We have these simple, cropped bandeau tops at Bar Denim right now, and I’m thinking one’s gonna have to come home with me!

Leave a Reply

