Skip to content

Double Chocolate Mint Brownies

January 20, 2011

Throughout my glory days during high school, my best friend would always make this dessert for me. It didn’t even have to be my birthday! Some days she’d just pop in with this delectable treat. The combination of mint and chocolate complement each other perfectly, and if you remember this post, you already knew of my love affair with the combo. For this particular recipe you can either make homemade brownies (I recommend this recipe) or if you’re in a time crunch, use a brownie mix (I recommend Ghirardelli). After the brownies have cooled completely, layer on the mint frosting, chocolate topping, and dust with mini chocolate chips. Take a bite, and your taste buds will thank you. Trust me.

Mint frosting:

4 c powdered sugar

8 tbsp butter

2 1/2 tsp peppermint extract

4 tbsp milk

Cream butter, milk and extract together until thoroughly mixed. Add powdered sugar by cup full until completely combined.

Chocolate topping:

1 1/2 c semi-sweet chocolate chips

4 tbsp butter

Melt chocolate chips and butter & stir until combined. *Don’t let this mixture sit out too long before spreading over brownies & frosting. It might harden up on you a bit, making it more difficult to spread!

Also- Today I’m guest blogging over on Raving Fashionista! I was beyond thrilled to be given this opportunity! Be sure to check out my take on the winter shorts and tights trend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 11:42 am

    MMM… delicious! I was so tickled when I saw your blog comment that I had to come over and check out Sweet Tea & Champagne–and I am so glad that I did. Please continue to come visit http://www.thepresentperfect.com for fabulous gift ideas!

  2. January 20, 2011 12:10 pm

    Oh my….these look heavenly. I will DEFINITELY be making these babies soon! 🙂

  3. Curry Campbell permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:15 pm

    I remember this being all the rage in our high school glory days. Best holiday treat ever!!

  4. January 20, 2011 3:09 pm

    Yummmm! These sound so delicious. I was totally the girl in high school who would bake things for my friends; they always request my chocolate chip cookies when we’re all home!
    xo Josie
    http://winksmilestyle.blogspot.com

  5. January 20, 2011 7:22 pm

    Those look delicious! Pretty presentation, stacking them with the milk in the background…it’s all about the presentation, at least for me 🙂 I am way to much into the aesthetics of everything!

  6. January 20, 2011 10:38 pm

    i have such a sweet tooth today – wish i had some of these in my kitchen!!

Leave a Reply

