Skip to content

Velvet Revolver

January 14, 2011
{Anthropologie Blazer, Homemade brooch, J. Crew shirt, Market Infinity Scarf via Bar Denim, Ray Ban Aviators, 7 For All Mankind Jeans, Diana Warner Disco Ball Earrings, UGG Clogs, Forever 21 bag}

When I was little I remember my mom picking out winter outfits for me that usually consisted of frilly lace, plaid, and velvet. I was also that first grader that wore the velvet button down shirts. And possibly velvet pants. Looking back, I like to think I was just that much farther ahead of the fashion trend. Velvet’s made quite the come back lately, and I love it. Not only does it have a luxurious look and feel, but it also makes you instantly huggable!  If you remember this post (also when I last wore this scarf), this blazer is the gorgeous piece from Anthropologie that I got for a steal during my NY trip! I can’t wait to pair it with skinny jeans and skirts with tights during these next few bitterly cold months ahead. Have a wonderful weekend and stay warm!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 4:07 am

    You are so. Freaking. Adorable. Seriously, can I please BE you? I adore your velvet blazer — the drapey fit is perfection. And how cute is that darling bag? What a fun shape!
    xo Josie
    http://winksmilestyle.blogspot.com

  2. January 14, 2011 7:34 am

    You made that broach?!?! So cute! I love velvet too…Now I’m reminiscing over my green velvet skirt and vest combo worn during my nursery school days lol.

  3. The Farmgirl Fashionista permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:15 am

    Great look! I’ve been eyeing my gray velvet blazer…trying to figure out how to work it into a look…thanks for the inspiration!

    http://thefarmgirlfashionista.blogspot.com/

  4. sparkleandspice permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:48 am

    This looks like a Cupcakes and Cashmere outfit 🙂 Love it!
    Lisa

  5. January 14, 2011 11:06 am

    What a great ensemble! I love the blazer–I’m obsessed with velvet. I just scored a pair of velvet pumps from a thrift store in NYC called Unique Boutique. If you are ever back in NYC, you should check it out! It’s on 93rd b/t 2nd and 3rd.

    P.S. I finished Mini-Shopaholic! I loved it! I never get tired of Sophie Kinsella’s books!

  6. January 14, 2011 12:22 pm

    When I was in the seventh grade, I had a dark red, velvet blazer for my band performance. (NERD ALERT) I was horrified because I was wearing something different than anybody else, so I hid the blazer behind a row of bleachers. I kind of wish I had that blazer now (I bet I could still fit into it — I haven’t grown much — bahahahahaaha) because velvet is such a huge wardrobe staple of current fashion.

    http://glamkittenslitterbox.blogspot.com/

    • January 16, 2011 2:50 pm

      I feel like we’ve definitely all had those moments! Oh how young and naive we were… : )

  7. January 14, 2011 12:23 pm

    Oh WOW I love this blazer. What a fabulous color! Lovin’ the blog too! Thanks for visiting mine 🙂

    Melissa

    http://www.glamoretta.blogspot.com

  8. January 14, 2011 12:49 pm

    That brown velvet blazer is sooo gorgeous! Love how you paired the pink flower and pink purse with it!!! You look so fab and chic!
    Happy HAppy FRIDAY!!!
    kisses
    xoThe Beckerman Girls

    http://www.BeckermanBitePlate.com

  9. January 14, 2011 2:20 pm

    i love you blog so much! im your new follower!!!
    come visit me and follow if you’d like… i leave for my Australia adventure in just 2 days!!!

    http://www.passportsandprada.com

    xoxo summer

  10. January 14, 2011 3:00 pm

    Thank you very much for your comment!
    I am following on bloglovin’ as well.
    That Anthropologie blazer is gorgeous, they are one of my favorites!
    And I love your homemade broach – just the perfect little touch to your outfit.

  11. January 14, 2011 7:20 pm

    Love that flower pin! Very Carrie Bradshaw. That velvet blazer is fantastic!

    xo
    Jean

    http://www.fadedoldjeans.com

    • January 16, 2011 2:52 pm

      You made my day with that comment!! Carrie Bradshaw is my fashion icon!

  12. Tiffany permalink
    January 14, 2011 7:23 pm

    Love the flower

    XOXO,

    http://outfitidentifier.com/

  13. January 14, 2011 8:07 pm

    Gah! I love that blazer – especially the color and the slouchy pockets. Of course it’s from Anthro….the most fantastic, yet generally unattainable (monetary-wise) store. I’m pretty sure I could live inside an Anthropology store…or if I had a home of my own, furnish my entire house with their product (that includes my closet!!!!) . Very cute look, and love your homemade broach, too!

    • January 16, 2011 2:56 pm

      Anthro can be a little pricey that’s for sure! I managed to find this gem for 60% off in the sale part of the store. So I ALWAYS check back there, even if it means sifting through the not-so-great items. The stores are even like a little escape from reality! Everything’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

