Skip to content

Hello, 2011!

January 3, 2011

These past couple weeks have been quite a whirlwind! Celebrated Christmas in Virginia with my family, rang in the new year in New York City with some old (and new!) friends, and traveled a total of around 1,400 miles. Needless to say, I’ve been living out of a suitcase for quite some time now, and I’m happy to be home in Tennessee. Ready for a fresh start, ready for some routine, and ready to make 2011 the best year yet. Doesn’t everyone say that? Oh well… and while we’re at it, might as well get started on those resolutions!

This year I’m committing to…

1. Painting more. I’ve always loved art and especially creating it. Classic Pencil and pen might be my favorite mediums, but I would love to experiment more with oil and acrylic paints. I always find myself using the same lame excuse, “I just don’t have time.” Well, that’s got to stop.

2. Trying a new homemade recipe at least once a week. Slightly embarrassed at the fact that the last home-cooked meal I made myself was days, months, … forever ago. Baking is (and will always be) my first true love, but this year, I’m channeling my inner Remy (think Ratatouille if you didn’t catch that).

3. Taking pictures galore like a mad woman. I’m in the process of saving up for a nice D-SLR camera of my own, so hopefully I’ll reach my goal soon!! I have my little Nikon I (try to) take with me where ever I go, but I want to invest in a quality piece of machinery like a Nikon D3100 or a Canon EOS Rebel T2i. I want to capture as many memorable moments as I can this year.

So here’s to a fabulous 2011! And as always…

photo credit: J.Crew and Alan Arail

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah~marie permalink
    January 4, 2011 4:13 pm

    Ahhh, Kathryn! You just continue proving yourself to be my long lost sister every day! Teaching myself how to sew clothing and channeling my creative energies [and stress] into crafts are my top two resolutions! =] Learning how to use my new D-SLR like a pro is another! I have a D3000 and love it! My roommate and I love to go on photo treks around Ktown! Join us?

    • January 4, 2011 10:40 pm

      Yes, please I want to join you two! I’ve been using my mom’s D90 recently, but I just can’t wait to get a nice one of my very own! I was also thinking about maybe even taking a photography course. Oh– I meant to tell you that I went to H&M to see if they had an Lanvin left, but it was all picked over & no shoes. (I want a pair of those shoes so badly!) What a sad day, but also kind of expected… And I want to learn how to sew too! Maybe this is something we can tackle together. Thoughts?

  2. January 4, 2011 6:06 pm

    cute…I just got that jcrew catalog in the mail today and was admiring the striped top. good luck with your photography endeavors. It is my goal this year to get better at taking pictures!

Trackbacks

  1. Curry Chicken Salad «

Leave a Reply

